Linux – Never Again

That’s it. I’m done. I’ve given up. No more leaps of faith for me.

When KDE 4 came out, I suddenly felt this urge to install the remixed version of Kubuntu 8.04 with KDE 4 on my Dell Vostro running Windows XP. I looked around the net for a couple of days, and generally saw a positive response, especially on machines similar to mine. There weren’t a lot of driver issues. So I went ahead and did a dual boot.

The installation went smooth enough, and I was impressed. When Kubuntu loaded, sound was working, screen resolution was fine, USB drives were working, and KDE 4 looked very nice. Wifi wasn’t working, but I thought what the heck, I’ll pop in the network cable and download the driver for the wifi. But turns out the NIC wasn’t working either.

So I look around some other options, try out some applications, and stumble upon the desktop effects settings. Although I doubt they’d run without the Nvidia drivers installed for my 8400GS, I still click the ‘enable’ button. Screen goes blank. I wait for a couple of minutes and nothing changes. I restart the X Server. Nothing happens. I reboot and startup Kubuntu and login. I still get a blank screen.

And since that day I haven’t touched Kubuntu. Now I’m forced to wait and select XP in the boot sequence whenever my machine boots. I can’t take the time out to partition and install XP again and remove Kubuntu completely.

There’s a lesson to be learnt here. Technology is just an enabler, just a means to an end. You should use whatever works for you. Be it XP, Vista, OSX or Linux. We shouldn’t always go after the latest (not necessarily the greatest) thing. Windows XP SP2 works beautifully for me, and now I’m going to stick with it. Even if my Kubuntu install hadn’t borked itself, I still would not have been able to use it as my primary OS because of compatibility issues. There would have been no gain in productivity whatsoever. So until Linux really becomes super awesome, gets mainstream recognition and gives me a long list of compelling reasons to switch, I’m sticking with good old Microsoft.

6 thoughts on “Linux – Never Again

  1. ubuntucat says:

    Good for you for sticking with what works for you.

    Next time you want to give Linux a go, buy it preinstalled. My Xandros-preloaded Eee PC works perfectly out of the box.

  2. Yup, I guess that would be the best option, but still, my issue with Linux at the moment is not that setting it up by myself would require hunting down drivers etc, its the application support that’s problematic in the long run.

    I’ve tried lots of different Ubuntu versions in the past, this wasn’t the first time I was installing it, but my patience ran dry this time around.

    Eee PC, I’m jealous, that’s one sweet machine 🙂

  3. ubuntucat says:

    Yeah, the Eee isn’t perfect, but I love it.

    And since the internet is basically my “application” (Firefox and Thunderbird and not much else), I can use any of the three major platforms (Windows, Mac, Linux).

  4. That’s good. Linux isn’t all that bad, I’ve used it as my primary development machine at work for about 18 months, and its perfect for non .NET based development.

  5. Usman Ilyas says:

    hahaha … experience is the best teacher

Leave a Reply

